The Annual Trek

Tonight begins my annual pilgrimage to the parents’ house for Thanksgiving. It’s my only big family holiday, and really the only time I visit my parents. My mom makes the most incredible sausage stuffing which I ate even when I was still a vegetarian – it’s that good.

It’s also a time for stress and agitation. My sister lives near by now, so we drive together. Whose car? Where shall we meet? Are we on the same time frame? How will the drive, the weather, the traffic be? Then there’s playing nice with mom – what fabulous things will she have to say about my clothes, my presentation, my basic way of being? Can we have a fight about something totally stupid just because neither of us can be the bigger person?

Sometimes I forget to take a step back and be grateful for how lucky I am. I have a family of origin that loves me no matter what I pierce or tattoo, no matter what I do for a living, no matter who I love. I have a chosen family that feeds my soul and spirit in amazing and unexpected ways. I have a job that I enjoy, enough money to live comfortably, a roof over my head, and more love than I could ever have imagined.

So this year I’m giving thanks for my friends and loved ones, for having a place to live and food to eat, and for having enough awareness to know how lucky I really am. So take some time out to think about what you have, and to hold those with less in your heart.

Leave a Reply

