Disposable Universe

I don’t appreciate planned obsolescence. I don’t like it that things are made to wear out, thus fueling our consumer culture. So I’ve resolved to hang on to my old computer as long as possible, and to learn enough about its guts to keep it at least semi-relevant. Last year, I upgraded the RAM so it would stop freezing. Easy. And inspired by this success, I decided this year to add a second hard drive to accommodate my increased number of music and photo files.

So far, so good. I installed the disk with only one scary moment of dropped screw anxiety. I successfully initialized it and got the system to recognize it. And now I’ve begun the file transfer process. Fingers crossed for seamless transition….

Leave a Reply

