Romance without Finance is a Nuisance

My pal Copper Catfish is moving away. I’ve known for a while (maybe longer than she has) that it was going to happen. We were housemates, then neighbors, and walking buddies all summer, and were astounded at the amount of discarded change we would come across in our daily walks. So, not fearing the most meanspirited of Jew jokes, I started picking up the change and saving it to buy her a going away present.

This evening I spoke to her on my way home from work, and told her I’d found a nickle for the special bank, and she asked me if I’d seen the post on Queercents about the extravagantly wealthy people penny tossers, and those who pick them up. I hadn’t. Then, by the time I got home and got online, she had snidely posted about how much cash we’ve found.

Well, Copper, here’s the current tally:

3 quarters
15 dimes
9 nickles
67 pennies
for a grand total of $3.37

Don’t knock it. And would you put me in your blogroll already?

*Fun Fact: Ellison can’t stand the metallic smell of change. When she heard me dump out the jar to count she shouted up the stairs, “Are you touching your pennies again?”

3 responses to “Romance without Finance is a Nuisance

  1. Hi there,

    I looked over your blog and it looks really good. Do you ever do link exchanges on your blog roll? If you do, I’d like to exchange links with you.

    Let me know if you’re interested.

    Thanks..

  2. It wasn’t snide, it was hopeful. I loooovvveee caffeine. (As evidenced by my insanity of yesterday.)

    I would have thought Ellison to be one of those people who puts pennies in their mouth. And keys. And little wadded up pieces of aluminum foil…

Leave a Reply

