The Year of Selfish Knitting

“You knit? Then why are you wearing that boring old store bought sweater?”

This is the question I’m vowing to eliminate from my life in 2009. My goal: 6 sweaters, 2 hats, a vest, fingerless gloves, and a scarf. Sweater #1 is finished. It’s a variation on Laura Chau’s Lucy in the Sky cardigan, designed in part around 5 fabulous pewter buttons I have with fern “fossils” in them. Ellison hates it – I caught her looking at it with distaste in the car today. I feel a little like I should put some fruit on my head and party with Charo, but it also feels fun and exciting. What do you think?diamond-variation

3 responses to “The Year of Selfish Knitting

  1. I am so jealous! I cannot figure out how to knit to save my life and I’m still working my way up to a sweater with my crochet hook! I am in awe of your projects!

    • Thanks CJ! Knitting totally saves my sanity in tough times….very zen. And I can’t do more than a simple chain with a crochet hook…

  2. Love it, and love your year of selfish knitting. A resolution I arrived at for myself around the same time. I am going to frog my first project, alas, but I’m thinking of your Laura Chau sweater as my next attempt. See you at the next SnB hopefully. I have that swirly shawl pattern for you.
    Best, Sheryl

Leave a Reply

