Spare Change

glassesI got new glasses. I bought them with not one, but TWO gay men – so they’re practically perfect in every way.

I love them. They’re fun and exciting and the lenses turn into sunglasses when I go outside. Perfect because this weekend we’re going on a secret surprise trip to….who knows? Ellison swears that it’s warmer and sunnier than here.

I picked them up yesterday after work, but before picking Ellison up from her work trip. I prepped her in advance that she didn’t have to like them, but I needed her to be nice about them.

And she totally surprised me. She actually seems to feel ok about them. She doesn’t like the red-orange, but because she doesn’t think it’s flattering, not because it’s different. I’ve asked her to take a few days to adjust, and we’ll see how it goes. In the meantime I’m slowly adjusting to that fishbowl feeling that a new lens prescription can bring.

Leave a Reply

