Number 19

I have a new love in my life. I’m loaded with New Relationship Energy. When my mind drifts, it’s because I’m thinking about her. I think about what I’m going to bring her as I drift off to sleep. I daydream about our future together. Who is this new love? My community garden plot, Number 19. I hope by the end of the summer she will be bearing my cantaloupes.

Seriously, a new garden bed is like a new relationship. I think about how to condition the soil, the light and water conditions, optimal plantings, and potential, always potential. This plot is particularly compelling because Number 19 is a part of a brand new community garden. I’ve been holding off on planting because the water lines won’t be complete until this weekend, but tonight, after more than two weeks together, I finally got some plants in her. Veggie plants were donated by Deb at the Groden Center Greenhouse, a vocational program for people with autism, behavioral disorders, and developmental disabilities. Her only condition is that surplus produce be donated to the poor or homeless. If you need plants for your garden, go see her.

Ursula and RollerDerby came by to see the garden, since they live right near by. Ursula also donated a Thai basil plant he rooted from a sprig in his soup! I didn’t catch a pic of that as it was getting late and dark, but photos are after the jump.

Tomatoes, peppers, eggplants, basil, squash, cucumbers, and peas.  Still room for my cantaloupes!

Tomatoes, peppers, eggplants, basil, squash, cucumbers, and peas. Still room for my cantaloupes!

I don't even like squash.  Ellison does, though.

I don't even like squash. Ellison does, though.

MiniCuke

MiniCuke

Mystery peppers

Mystery peppers

Tiny Weeny Eggplant

Tiny Weeny Eggplant

4 responses to “Number 19

  1. ::full of compersion:: i love you.

  2. Pingback: What’s Growin? « Woolverine

  3. Pingback: Providence Urban Agriculture « Woolverine

  4. Pingback: Build Me Up, Buttercup « Woolverine

Leave a Reply

