Turtlenecks

You may not know this about me, but I went to a private girl’s school from Kindergarten through 8th grade. Banish those kilt images from your mind, we had a very fashionable pleated tunic that completely obscured all curves. (See Wordnerdy for a fellow alumna’s recollections and illustrations.) This tunic could be worn with white or hunter green collared shirts or turtlenecks. Since that time I have had a marked aversion to turtlenecks. Despite my long neck and short hair, I have resisted wearing turtlenecks for nearly 20 years. (Turtleneck sweaters are ok, as are scarves.)

Striped green/grey turtleneckBut this year I bought my first turtleneck since 8th grade. It’s way softer and stretchier than I remember, and doesn’t feel like it’s strangling me. And, you know, I can’t resist stripes. I like it so much I just bought two more, one purple and one pine green (stripes are, sadly, sold out). Maybe white socks will be next.

2 responses to “Turtlenecks

  1. I have the same aversion to collared shirts and khakis.

  2. Man, I still can’t wear turtlenecks–cowl-necks are as close as I get. Your entry gives me hope . . . maybe someday!

Leave a Reply

