Flowering Quince

Saturday was Valentine’s day, and we were hosting dinner for about 15 people, so I went out after my pop-up class to get some flowers for Ellison. I got a nice bouquet of Gerber daisies for the table. But on my way out of the florist I saw this amazing twisty, thorny, flowering branch I couldn’t resist. It’s a branch of flowering quince, and it’s just lovely. I couldn’t get a great photo of its structural branching, but it’s got these amazing delicate pink flowers and these two-inch long thorns. I would normally wait another week or two before forcing a forsythia or dogwood cutting inside, and it sure is nice to see something blooming. Flowering Quince

2 responses to “Flowering Quince

  1. I love that branch! So artsy and sculptural and a sign of the spring to come!

Leave a Reply

