I’ll Win The Motley Crue Mirror, If It Fucking Kills Me!

I may have mentioned before that I came up as a Riot Grrrl. One of the founders and iconic figures of the Riot Grrrl movement is Kathleen Hanna, who continues to be an unapologetic free spirited creative feminist, and I love that. Watch a recent interview with her here.

Anyway, she’s posted a call for contributions to the Bikini Kill archive blog. So here’s mine. I went to see Bikini Kill, and L7 in 1992 or 1993 and my world opened up. I hadn’t really seen an empowered model of female sexuality that also embraced femininity, and here was a room full of women of all shapes and sizes in lingerie and giant shit-kicker boots. My proto-dyke mind nearly melted, and it was incredible and hot and confusing. In a movement that suffered from both homophobia and “retaliatory” anti-male violence, I felt like Bikini Kill had a voice of strength and anger that didn’t need to put anyone else down to get their story told. I found a place for myself in the Riot Grrrl music world, and attribute much of my comfort in being myself, contradictions and all, to finding that movement early on. I still find Kathleen Hanna an inspiration, as it gets harder to find an authentic voice as we get older and more traditional….and sometimes I still need a little REVOLUTION, GRRRL STYLE NOW!

Post title is a lyric from “Carnival” by Bikini Kill:

Leave a Reply

