Beets

Last year, Number 19 and I didn’t begin our romance until mid-June.  But this year we’ve started quite a bit earlier, and things are growing quite a bit faster than I’d thought.  I’ve got buds on the tomato and pepper plants already!

I am experimenting with beets in the garden this year. I bought some at the plant sale last weekend, and planted some seeds.  Yesterday when I went by to water, they were just starting to emerge.  I’ve planted a few more – they only harvest once, so it’s important to stagger the planting so I have a few batches to eat over the course of the summer/fall.

Leave a Reply

