Starry Eyed Idealist

It’s the 4th of July, which is maybe my second favorite holiday after my birthday. (And yes, I do consider that a holiday.) For all my hardassery and cynicism, I’m totally in love with the ideals on which this nation was founded – “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness”. Is there anything more beautiful?

We’ve slipped so far off track, and 364 days a year I’m critical of our involvement in Afghanistan, suspension of habeas corpus, the impact of the Citizens United decision on our electoral process, extraordinary rendition, big business, show business, funny business, monkey business, and all the rest.

But on July 4th I re-read the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution and fall in love with the dreams of a group of rich white landholding men who didn’t want to pay taxes. And then I watch fireworks.

Happy 4th. How do you celebrate?

Leave a Reply

