Growing Magic

Working in the dirt makes me happier than almost anything. It’s amazing how a well-landscaped bed can change a space, and the process of planning, planting, growing, seeing what works and doesn’t, and planning again keeps me future-oriented and optimistic. And landscaping and gardening with good company is an incredible and new experience for me. I’ve always enjoyed working hard with a group, and being able to share what I know, learn more, and get to know folks while doing something that feeds my soul is a wonderful gift.

And I won a game of mini-golf. As the least coordinated person you know, this is a big deal. I think I’m going to frame the score card.

Next year I’m building a patio in my back yard, and am recruiting a team. I think it’s going to be a 2-weekend job. We’ve lucked out on weather so far in our labor sharing, so I’m hopeful the luck will hold. This fall will be a lot of project planning, materials specs, and visualization. I’m excited to have a yard I actually want to be in again. The three goals: 1. Less grass. 2. Defined beds. 3. Attractive and enjoyable space for outdoor dining. I’m sure my nemesis tree will have other nefarious plans. It’s already got huge roots that look like the Loch Ness monster coming up in the grass. It will be very satisfying to rototill the living daylights out of the whole area, and regrade the lumpy yard surface. I’m doing an aggressive grub treatment too – fewer beetles would be nice.

Leave a Reply

