Winter Wonder Land

It is hard to believe that somewhere under this smooth, deep sheet of snow, I have a 12 inch deep raised bed. And even harder to believe that in 6 weeks or so it will be time for planting peas. I can’t wait to get my hands back in the dirt, and seeing things start to grow. I wonder how my garlic experiment is faring under all this snow. Hopefully sleeping soundly….

One of the things I love about living here is there is so much SUN! Even when it’s cold out, the sun is often shining. Not like Pittsburgh, where overcast days are the overwhelming norm. The days can be very short, but the sunshine means I can cruise around on my lunch break. But with all the snow, and lack of thaw, we’ve got mountains of snow blocking every corner, piles of snow that block the visibility of both drivers and pedestrians, and flooded slush piles that are really so much better lying in the street than splashed over me, I’ve barely left the house. Walking anywhere is treacherous, but thank goodness for those knee-high rain boots I bought this fall. Who would have thought they would have come in more handy than my snow boots this winter?

I’ve been watching a LOT of TV. A million episodes of Top Chef, Law & Order, etc. I’m almost at the point where I’m ready to buy Ellison one of those interchangeable beaded bracelets, eye cream that revitalizes my under eye skin, and any number of home fitness systems. But strangely I’ve been having a hard time motivating to do the things I really enjoy. I’ve been knitting a little, but not a ton. I haven’t written any letters or anything in my journal. My spinning wheel is dormant. I’ve been going to yoga classes regularly, but my home practice is pathetic at best. Maybe I’m lacking inspiration; maybe I’m in a weather-related funk. I don’t really know. But I’m committed to finding a way to get outside this weekend. And maybe into some water, which is always a mental reset for me.

One response to “Winter Wonder Land

  1. Law & Order UK is where it is at. Get to know it.

Leave a Reply

