Veggies

image

image

After a week of rain I finally planted my vegetable garden this weekend. Number 19 has 3 kinds of tomatoes, peas, 2 kinds of eggplant, 2 kinds of hot peppers, 3 kinds of basil, 2 kinds of peas, a cucumber, a zucchini, beets, and carrots, as well as a large sage plant that survived the winter. I’m planning to put in a few more basil plants so I can do more pesto this year. And I might try watermelon again.

In the back yard I have spinach, lettuce, 3 kinds of cherry tomatoes, and 3 kinds of garlic, all flourishing. The garlic experiment will continue through June, and if it goes well, I may add a small raised bed to my backyard makeover just for garlic.

I had a frustrating tool fail in my backyard makeover this weekend, so I wasn’t able to finish building my stone walls. I’m away the next two weekends so that phase of the project is on hold for the time being. Fortunately the gray weather we’re having means the plants I dug up from my perrenial beds are perfectly content in temporary pots.

It might be a mud pit until July but I’m excited to have a yard I actually want to spend time in.

2 responses to “Veggies

  1. Beautiful.

  2. Why thank you. Notice I didn’t post photos of my work-in-progress backyard mud pit.

Leave a Reply

