Travels and Travails

Last weekend Ellison and I were off together with our chosen family for a fantastic Queer Weekend. I love being surrounded by love and mutual support, and having a place to revel in all facets of myself, with a ton of delicious food and phenomenal company.

This weekend we’re off on separate adventures, home just long enough to empty our suitcases, wash and repack our clothes, and keep our cats and plants alive. (I got the toothpaste. Ha!) Ellison will be presenting on chosen family at a conference like a responsible adult, while I’m frolicking on the beach and having my every need catered to like a giant infant. I can’t wait. I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it lately but I LOVE THE BEACH.

Then, I’m home for the whole summer. My yard renovation project has been on hold for a couple of weeks, but I’m really hoping to have it be suitable for a 4th of July cookout. I’m borrowing extra boys next weekend to put a major dent in the patio building process. I’ve still got stone walls to finish, perennial beds to plant, and yard to level and reseed or….something. But when it’s done I’ll have more enjoyable space and less poorly maintained grass. I can’t wait for that, either. It’s been a long time since I had a yard I really want to be in, and Ellison has barely sat outside since quitting smoking 2+ years ago. I’m hoping this yard makeover changes the environment enough that we can both enjoy the small outdoors together.

2 responses to “Travels and Travails

  1. I have a crap-ton of perennials that need dividing. If you care to smuggle them into ‘merica, you’re welcome to come and plunder.

  2. I’m sure I’ve got no idea what you’re talking about. Contraband Canadian perennials growing beautifully in my yard this very day? Banish the thought 🙂

Leave a Reply

