Stuffy, Archaic, and Outdated

I got some very disappointing news yesterday. No, not that whole civil unions debacle. Worse. The Oxford Style Guide no long requires the Oxford, or serial, comma. As they say, “As a general rule, do not use the serial/Oxford comma: so write ‘a, b and c’ not ‘a, b, and c’. But when a comma would assist in the meaning of the sentence or helps to resolve ambiguity, it can be used – especially where one of the items in the list is already joined by ‘and’ [for example]: They had a choice between croissants, bacon and eggs, and muesli.”

Well, phooey, I say. I am a big fan of serial commas, and if that makes me a holdover, so be it. I also double space after a period. But since I’m running for post-apocalyptic class president, I think outdated and archaic style suits me.

In other happier news, I grew these:
image

4 responses to “Stuffy, Archaic, and Outdated

  1. I’m all about the serial comma, but two spaces after a period drives me batshit crazy!

  2. You won’t be surprised to hear that I’ve been deeply mourning the slow death of the Oxford comma for some time now. My editors have consistently edited them out of my writing, which ticks me off to no end, and now…this! What is wrong with the world? If anything, the decision should go in the opposite direction. And as far as double spaces after a period? I can’t train myself not to! Though I totally understand that it’s annoying work for my editors and taking the extra space out actually serves a purpose, whereas the deletion of the Oxford comma is just plain backwards.

  3. PS–You’ve totally got my vote. Looking for a running mate?

Leave a Reply

