Tech Separation

Ellison and I have a running conflict about the role of technology in our daily lives, and our relative tolerance for the checking of email, Facebook, etc. during an intensive conversation. This video sums up how I feel about a real face-to-face interaction being interrupted by “just checking” to see if anything interesting is happening out there.

My feelings are well summarized by this video, and particularly this quote: “And when you’re standing with someone and you’re on your mobile device, effectively what you’re saying to them is, ‘You are not as important as literally almost ANYTHING that could come to me through this device.'”

3 responses to “Tech Separation

  1. I’m gonna watch this later on my phone.

  2. It’s a little trite, but boy am I right there with you. BIG ISSUE.

Leave a Reply

