Sitting Is Killing You

A link to this image was posted by one of my favorite blogs in a weekly roundup of stuff to read. I have been more conscious of the havoc that sitting wreaks on your body since Ellison has a number of angry slipped disks, and since being more attentive I’ve noticed the impact it has on my hips, shoulders, and lower back. There’s a soupçon of fatphobia/conflation of weight with fitness in here for which I apologize in advance and am happy to hear feedback. And I’m not sure what the deal is with the sponsoring organization. I wonder how much of this data relates to the impact of sitting, and how much to the impact of watching TV (which has been shown to drop both brain activity and metabolism to levels BELOW SLEEPING and close to coma within 2 minutes…an impact mitigated by knitting!). But I do know that for my own health, flexibility and fitness, I try to sit less, and stand, walk and even lie down more. I’d love to hear your thoughts about sitting.

Sitting is Killing You
Via: Medical Billing And Coding

2 responses to “Sitting Is Killing You

  1. I LOVE the Saul Bass-esque aesthetic. Do you know who designed this?

Leave a Reply

